Lifelong Christian? How?

I love this story (reported here) told by a Roman Catholic priest, Fr William Stetson, about the time he met the-then Cardinal Ratzinger. The following conversation ensued.

“Are you a convert?”

“No, Cardinal, I’ve been a Catholic all my life.”

“Most interesting, Father. I became a Catholic when I was baptized.”

A Lutheran (or other Augsburg evangelical) would say “Christian” rather than large-C “Catholic”, of course, but apart from that Ratzinger has hit the nail on the head.

This entry was posted in Gospel and Sacrament and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lifelong Christian? How?

  1. Tim says:

    I didn’t really have much to add except I find it funny who I find myself agreeing with.

  2. steve martin says:

    How many Evangelicals would have said “I became a Christian on February 19th, 1986 at 2:34 in the afternoon.”
    (or maybe on another date)

    Now, if that was when they were baptised that would be terrific…but usually they are referring to their decision for Jesus or…their re-baptism.

  3. Thomas says:

    I find your crypto-Papism disturbing. You shall be visited in the night by three ghosts – Charles Krauth, Paul Gerhard, and C F W Walther. See that you heed their warnings and their visions and their threatenings – they shall show you the way to avoid disaster. Oh, and as always a gratuity is appreciated…

  4. never figured the first three or four hours of my life counted for much so that I should not say I am a Life long Lutheran.

Leave a Reply

