Welcome to the new blog, same as the old blog

As of this morning, this site is now being hosted on a new server. Thanks to the Revd J.R. Hermeneut for providing space on one of his Westfield House servers, and for his help in getting the transfer completed so smoothly. You’ll notice that the downtime I’d feared didn’t materialise.

The only casualties of the move so far are a couple of comments that I’d posted myself since doing the database dump on Saturday, but which I forgot to transfer from the old site. I’ve been able to restore other people’s comments from the email copy I receive.

There shouldn’t be any significant changes for people using the site. The main benefits are from my point of view: saving on hosting fees, and having a bright, shiny WordPress 2.6 installation rather than WordPress 2.0.

This entry was posted in Blogging about Blogging, Technical Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to the new blog, same as the old blog

  1. Nice work. What were you doing back on 2.0? Were you not allowed to update your WP installation?

  2. John H says:

    No, I was just running Debian Etch, for which WP 2.0 was the current version.

    My new tech support kindly installed the latest version in my home directory rather than using the Debian package.

    I had no pressing concern to upgrade, at least until a few days ago when I discovered the “category to tag” converter in 2.6 and realised I could at last rationalise my multiplicity of categories…

  3. J Random Hermeneut says:

    Hi there,

    This is a “comment”. Did it end up in your email inbox? If so, smile and delete this comment. If not…

  4. Salma says:

    and what do you think about energetic problem in Russia?

Leave a Reply

