It’s not easy being green

GreenSomehow, I’ve never really been an “ordinary time” person. Don’t get me wrong: I like the colour green as much as anyone. And I appreciate that for some, more spiritually-exalted persons than I, the weeks after Pentecost (or after Trinity, according to taste) are a wonderful opportunity to reflect on the ongoing rhythm of life in the Spirit, the sacredness of everyday things.

But I’ve always preferred the narrative drive and colour of the church’s seasons: from the anticipation and hope of Advent, through Christmas and Epiphany, and then the redemptive journey through Lent, Holy Week, Easter, Ascension and Pentecost itself, with the accompanying parade of colours: blue, gold, purple, white, red and so on.

So it was with something of a shock that I realised this morning that (thanks to the early Easter) we now have the thick end of six months of “green” Sundays ahead of us; six months of the “daily pattern” of Celebrating Common Prayer.

I’m feeling a little stir-crazy already, and we’re only on day one! Oh well, I’m sure it’ll be very good for me. 😉

This entry was posted in Pleas For Mercy, Thinking Aloud, TIWIARN and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s not easy being green

  1. steve martin says:

    Just keep in mind that the ‘Green’ of the Church, is the new life in you and me and in the Church. The Holy Spirit causes that growth and keeps us anchored to our Lord.

    To the world ‘green’ represents trying to hang on to this world with everything they’ve got.

    We ought take care of this world, God would have it no other way. But we realize that the only authentic life is life in Him and when we bear witness to that fact we are in a sense, ‘going green’.

    Grace and Peace, John!

    – Steve M.

  2. Bror Erickson says:

    Steve
    Is that what it is, I thought it was a subtle ploy to get more out of the offerings. You know, dress the church up in Green, to remind people of the Green they should be dropping in the plate. But I suppose that might not work so well in England.
    Bror

  3. But Trinity Sunday is white, isn’t it?

  4. John H says:

    Oh! Of course! Silly me. 🙂

    What actually prompted my cri de coeur though was moving onto the daily pattern in Celebrating Common Prayer (the daily office I use), and realising I had six months of it ahead of me, Trinity Sunday or no Trinity Sunday…

  5. steve martin says:

    Bror,

    You might be right about that subtle message to drop more ‘green’ in the plate.

    I would venture to guess that there is no end to the devices and schemes of the human mind to achieve its ends.

    Thanks Bror!

    – Steve

  6. Pingback: Confessing Evangelical » Hey hey, my my (into the green)

Leave a Reply

