A graphic example of retro geek chic

fx-7000G front view - click for full-size image fx7000-back-200.jpg

Following a link back from a comment the other day took me to Robert Talbert’s maths-themed blog Casting Out Nines, and in particular his post on calculator blasts from the past.

I was particularly startled to see a reference to “a rare example of a Casio fx7000, from 1985 – the world’s first handheld graphing calculator” – not least because I had another example of the same calculator sat on the desk beside me at that very moment, and it was quite a surprise to find it mentioned in such reverential terms.

So for any other retro geeks who may be reading this, feast your eyes on my trusty Casio fx-7000G. I got this for my 16th birthday back in 1989, and it has served me faithfully since then. As will be noted from the back, I haven’t got round to removing the various identifying stickers from my university days, including a “Coal not Dole” sticker from around 1992 (when the whole country went through a brief spasm of support for the last remnants of the mining industry, as a form of expiation for its destruction following the 1984-5 strike).

At some point in the late 90s, responses to this calculator tipped over from being “Wow, that’s a strange/interesting calculator” to “Golly, how long have you had that?” Could it be that it has now undergone a further transformation to “classic retro tech”?

To paraphrase A Mighty Wind, now it is very retro, but back in 1989 it was very… nowtro, if you will. 😉

This entry was posted in Live to Geek and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A graphic example of retro geek chic

  1. Craig says:

    Funny to think of the Left *opposing* coal mine closures…

  2. Makes sense to me. After all, the C64 is retro tech.

  3. Peter says:

    That thing is the business. I wanted to get a retro graphical calculator when I was looking for one, but now I’ve got a TI-83+, and I’m not complaining.

  4. rpg says:

    LMH? Flippin’ ‘eck!

    (’87 – ’91, Biochemistry, then DPhil)

  5. John H says:

    RPG: small world! Looks like we just missed overlapping: I was there from ’91 to ’94. 🙂

  6. rpg says:

    I was floating around (read: Nailed to the lab bench) doing my DPhil then. Took time off to get get married in Aldate’s July ’92.

  7. Dennis F says:

    I have had mine (fx-7000G) since somewhere around 1986 and it is still my calculator of choice.

    Its ability to perform logic functions in Hex makes it very handy when I want to double check bit-manipulation routines that I write using C++.

    In fact, even though I got my HP 28C a few years later, that 28C has not been used any where near as much as my fx-7000G.

Leave a Reply

