Welcome to the new-look Confessing Evangelical

As explained in the welcome message, the new site was getting so much traffic that I’ve moved it to a new co-located server on the beautiful Indian Ocean island nation of San Serriffe. (Actually there are two servers, one on the northern island of Upper Caisse, and the other on the southern island of Lower Caisse, just in case one of them floats away again.)

I hope you soon get used to the new “look and feel”. The command-line is a powerful and, in the end, highly intuitive means of operating a blog, and I’m sure you will all soon come to appreciate this radical approach. After all, you have little choice: I haven’t implemented the “gui” feature…

In the meantime, to leave a comment on this post, please type “c” and then enter your details and comment as usual. And once again, welcome to this bold new dawn for my blog!

For more information on San Serriffe, please see its Wikipedia entry. This is a particularly appropriate time to make this change, as today is San Serriffe’s national day, and the fortieth anniversary of its independence from Britain.

This entry was posted in Blogging about Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Welcome to the new-look Confessing Evangelical

  1. JS Bangs says:

    Cute. Where did you find this theme? Did you make it yourself?

  2. John H says:

    Chris: I’m shocked, shocked that you could suggest such a thing. JS: I wish! Try googling “CLI wordpress” for details of where I found this. 🙂

  3. This doesn’t seem to like HTML very well. 😛

  4. RodeoClown says:

    Dude, this is quite awesome.

  5. John H says:

    >Go NORTH

    You are in a clearing. You see a troll. The troll attacks you. You die horribly. You are dead. Game over. Play again?

  6. This is a great idea! Keep the skin! Chase the spammers!

  7. JR Hermeneut says:

    Cool. Let’s hack. First we’ll check out the ARP table.

  8. JR Hermeneut says:

    Hey. arp -a logged me out. Is there some kind of intrusion detection system? I try runni

  9. JR Hermeneut says:

    tcpdump -i eth 1 No traffic? Oh, it’s not a real shell. You fooled me. (Happy belated April Fools – from South Africa).

  10. John H says:

    JRH: ironically, I keep falling for it as well. I keep trying to (a) cycle through previous commands using the “up” arrow, (b) use tab completion, and (c) scroll up the page with Shift+Page Up. Oh, and to use Emacs keybindings. Old habits die hard…

  11. Dan says:

    Dude, that completely brought me back to my high school days of local BBS-ing! Actually, that’s how I met me main group of friends from other schools, including my beautiful wife.

    Thanks for the retro look, even for a day.

  12. John H says:

    Thanks for the retro look, even for a day.

    It’s a pleasure, though as I point out in my latest post, that 1986 dial-up experience is still only a click away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

