“This too will pass”

So I’ve deleted my Bloglines account. I was checking it far too often and allowing myself to get distracted by it from more pressing duties. I’ve transferred my feeds to my home computer using the Sage plug-in for Firefox so I can still keep up with what everyone’s saying, but hopefully on a less addicted, obsessive basis.

To be honest, this is part of what I suspect will be a general, gradual withdrawal from blogging over what Gordon Brown would call “the next period of time”. I don’t think I’m about to stop in the immediate future, but – well, I can’t possibly imagine I’d still be doing this when I’m 40, or even 35, and so there’s a sort of Laffer Curve effect – a curve that starts at zero, ends at zero and so necessarily reaches a peak somewhere in between. I suspect the peak is now behind me. Other duties, vocations and interests are gradually eroding the space available for this sort of thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to “This too will pass”

  1. D.S.Ketelby says:

    And the blogosphere itself will eventually fade and die, virally invaded by commerce and spam. Second Law of Thermodynamics, dude. Ah, the ecchoing green.

  2. D.S.Ketelby says:

    And the blogosphere itself will eventually fade and die, virally invaded by commerce and spam. Second Law of Thermodynamics, dude. Ah, the ecchoing green.

  3. D.S.Ketelby says:

    And the blogosphere itself will eventually fade and die, virally invaded by commerce and spam. Second Law of Thermodynamics, dude. Ah, the ecchoing green.

  4. D.S.Ketelby says:

    And the blogosphere itself will eventually fade and die, virally invaded by commerce and spam. Second Law of Thermodynamics, dude. Ah, the ecchoing green.

  5. John H says:

    “Old John with white hair
    Does laugh away care…”

    Well, I’m certainly heading that way, hair-wise…
    Very apposite poem, though. The original title for my post (“The long, withdrawing roar”) referenced a rather different poem, but then I decided that was a bit OTT. πŸ™‚
    (Though on second thoughts, perhaps my choice of poem could work:
    “The Sphere of Blog
    Was once, too, at the full, and round earth’s shore
    Lay like the folds of a bright girdle furl’d…”)

  6. John H says:

    “Old John with white hair
    Does laugh away care…”

    Well, I’m certainly heading that way, hair-wise…
    Very apposite poem, though. The original title for my post (“The long, withdrawing roar”) referenced a rather different poem, but then I decided that was a bit OTT. πŸ™‚
    (Though on second thoughts, perhaps my choice of poem could work:
    “The Sphere of Blog
    Was once, too, at the full, and round earth’s shore
    Lay like the folds of a bright girdle furl’d…”)

  7. John H says:

    “Old John with white hair
    Does laugh away care…”

    Well, I’m certainly heading that way, hair-wise…
    Very apposite poem, though. The original title for my post (“The long, withdrawing roar”) referenced a rather different poem, but then I decided that was a bit OTT. πŸ™‚
    (Though on second thoughts, perhaps my choice of poem could work:
    “The Sphere of Blog
    Was once, too, at the full, and round earth’s shore
    Lay like the folds of a bright girdle furl’d…”)

  8. John H says:

    “Old John with white hair
    Does laugh away care…”

    Well, I’m certainly heading that way, hair-wise…
    Very apposite poem, though. The original title for my post (“The long, withdrawing roar”) referenced a rather different poem, but then I decided that was a bit OTT. πŸ™‚
    (Though on second thoughts, perhaps my choice of poem could work:
    “The Sphere of Blog
    Was once, too, at the full, and round earth’s shore
    Lay like the folds of a bright girdle furl’d…”)

  9. John H says:

    And is it the second law of thermodynamics, or just the “tragedy of the commons”?
    Or perhaps – since we’re in a poetry vein – it’s just that “all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil”

  10. John H says:

    And is it the second law of thermodynamics, or just the “tragedy of the commons”?
    Or perhaps – since we’re in a poetry vein – it’s just that “all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil”

  11. John H says:

    And is it the second law of thermodynamics, or just the “tragedy of the commons”?
    Or perhaps – since we’re in a poetry vein – it’s just that “all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil”

  12. John H says:

    And is it the second law of thermodynamics, or just the “tragedy of the commons”?
    Or perhaps – since we’re in a poetry vein – it’s just that “all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil”

  13. Craig S says:

    Maybe. Personally, I think this form of new media is here to stay.
    I suspect if you give it a break for a while, you will come back eventually. What is going to change for you at 35? Will you stop having opinions? Will you stop having the desire to write?

  14. Craig S says:

    Maybe. Personally, I think this form of new media is here to stay.
    I suspect if you give it a break for a while, you will come back eventually. What is going to change for you at 35? Will you stop having opinions? Will you stop having the desire to write?

  15. Craig S says:

    Maybe. Personally, I think this form of new media is here to stay.
    I suspect if you give it a break for a while, you will come back eventually. What is going to change for you at 35? Will you stop having opinions? Will you stop having the desire to write?

  16. Craig S says:

    Maybe. Personally, I think this form of new media is here to stay.
    I suspect if you give it a break for a while, you will come back eventually. What is going to change for you at 35? Will you stop having opinions? Will you stop having the desire to write?

  17. D.S.Ketelby says:

    What changes at 35 is that you’re allowed to go and see ’35’ certificate films. These can contain explicit depictions of people filling in mortgage application forms, experiencing twinges of back pain and worrying about litter.

  18. D.S.Ketelby says:

    What changes at 35 is that you’re allowed to go and see ’35’ certificate films. These can contain explicit depictions of people filling in mortgage application forms, experiencing twinges of back pain and worrying about litter.

  19. D.S.Ketelby says:

    What changes at 35 is that you’re allowed to go and see ’35’ certificate films. These can contain explicit depictions of people filling in mortgage application forms, experiencing twinges of back pain and worrying about litter.

  20. D.S.Ketelby says:

    What changes at 35 is that you’re allowed to go and see ’35’ certificate films. These can contain explicit depictions of people filling in mortgage application forms, experiencing twinges of back pain and worrying about litter.

  21. Also, hair starts to grow out of your nose and ears – and this completely fails to upset you.

  22. Also, hair starts to grow out of your nose and ears – and this completely fails to upset you.

  23. Also, hair starts to grow out of your nose and ears – and this completely fails to upset you.

  24. Also, hair starts to grow out of your nose and ears – and this completely fails to upset you.

  25. And blogging is, like, soooo 2002.

  26. And blogging is, like, soooo 2002.

  27. And blogging is, like, soooo 2002.

  28. And blogging is, like, soooo 2002.

  29. Theresa K. says:

    I’m with Craig. I’m 15-20 years older than most of you and I think I see blog-keeping in a different way than younger people. I’ve had lots of other hobbies and mental avocations, but none has been as satisfying and helpful to my life as writing. I have a hard time understanding the struggle that some have written about keeping a blog, but I respect any person’s self-examination.
    Blogging and checking blogs can be a distraction like any other and must be addressed. I still want to crawl back into bed and watch TV all day long, somedays, but I don’t. There are good and bad television programs, yet it remains a beneficial medium.
    Do what you have to do, John, but don’t give up writing your observations of life. You have a gift and should use it, imho. πŸ™‚

  30. Theresa K. says:

    I’m with Craig. I’m 15-20 years older than most of you and I think I see blog-keeping in a different way than younger people. I’ve had lots of other hobbies and mental avocations, but none has been as satisfying and helpful to my life as writing. I have a hard time understanding the struggle that some have written about keeping a blog, but I respect any person’s self-examination.
    Blogging and checking blogs can be a distraction like any other and must be addressed. I still want to crawl back into bed and watch TV all day long, somedays, but I don’t. There are good and bad television programs, yet it remains a beneficial medium.
    Do what you have to do, John, but don’t give up writing your observations of life. You have a gift and should use it, imho. πŸ™‚

  31. Theresa K. says:

    I’m with Craig. I’m 15-20 years older than most of you and I think I see blog-keeping in a different way than younger people. I’ve had lots of other hobbies and mental avocations, but none has been as satisfying and helpful to my life as writing. I have a hard time understanding the struggle that some have written about keeping a blog, but I respect any person’s self-examination.
    Blogging and checking blogs can be a distraction like any other and must be addressed. I still want to crawl back into bed and watch TV all day long, somedays, but I don’t. There are good and bad television programs, yet it remains a beneficial medium.
    Do what you have to do, John, but don’t give up writing your observations of life. You have a gift and should use it, imho. πŸ™‚

  32. Theresa K. says:

    I’m with Craig. I’m 15-20 years older than most of you and I think I see blog-keeping in a different way than younger people. I’ve had lots of other hobbies and mental avocations, but none has been as satisfying and helpful to my life as writing. I have a hard time understanding the struggle that some have written about keeping a blog, but I respect any person’s self-examination.
    Blogging and checking blogs can be a distraction like any other and must be addressed. I still want to crawl back into bed and watch TV all day long, somedays, but I don’t. There are good and bad television programs, yet it remains a beneficial medium.
    Do what you have to do, John, but don’t give up writing your observations of life. You have a gift and should use it, imho. πŸ™‚

  33. Thomas says:

    Yeah, I actually have white hairs *in my nose* – it’s hilarious, but they do compliment the grey and white at my temples and in my beard. The great thing about white hairs in your beard is that they’re really wiry, and stick out as they other ones lay quite nicely thank you. All in all a signal that the blog she is nearin’ an all too timely end…

  34. Thomas says:

    Yeah, I actually have white hairs *in my nose* – it’s hilarious, but they do compliment the grey and white at my temples and in my beard. The great thing about white hairs in your beard is that they’re really wiry, and stick out as they other ones lay quite nicely thank you. All in all a signal that the blog she is nearin’ an all too timely end…

  35. Thomas says:

    Yeah, I actually have white hairs *in my nose* – it’s hilarious, but they do compliment the grey and white at my temples and in my beard. The great thing about white hairs in your beard is that they’re really wiry, and stick out as they other ones lay quite nicely thank you. All in all a signal that the blog she is nearin’ an all too timely end…

  36. Thomas says:

    Yeah, I actually have white hairs *in my nose* – it’s hilarious, but they do compliment the grey and white at my temples and in my beard. The great thing about white hairs in your beard is that they’re really wiry, and stick out as they other ones lay quite nicely thank you. All in all a signal that the blog she is nearin’ an all too timely end…

  37. I don’t know what the “tragedy of the commons” is. Is it a British idiom?
    Anyway, I’ll miss you blog, if it goes down.
    Entropy must increase.

  38. I don’t know what the “tragedy of the commons” is. Is it a British idiom?
    Anyway, I’ll miss you blog, if it goes down.
    Entropy must increase.

  39. I don’t know what the “tragedy of the commons” is. Is it a British idiom?
    Anyway, I’ll miss you blog, if it goes down.
    Entropy must increase.

  40. I don’t know what the “tragedy of the commons” is. Is it a British idiom?
    Anyway, I’ll miss you blog, if it goes down.
    Entropy must increase.

  41. John H says:

    Another very apt poem: “This is the way the blog ends,/Not with a bang but a whimper”
    “This talk of white hairs and quitting writing is dreadful! Stop it at once!”
    Says she who deleted her blog. All those wonderful Thursday poems, lost!
    πŸ˜‰

  42. John H says:

    Another very apt poem: “This is the way the blog ends,/Not with a bang but a whimper”
    “This talk of white hairs and quitting writing is dreadful! Stop it at once!”
    Says she who deleted her blog. All those wonderful Thursday poems, lost!
    πŸ˜‰

  43. John H says:

    Another very apt poem: “This is the way the blog ends,/Not with a bang but a whimper”
    “This talk of white hairs and quitting writing is dreadful! Stop it at once!”
    Says she who deleted her blog. All those wonderful Thursday poems, lost!
    πŸ˜‰

  44. John H says:

    Another very apt poem: “This is the way the blog ends,/Not with a bang but a whimper”
    “This talk of white hairs and quitting writing is dreadful! Stop it at once!”
    Says she who deleted her blog. All those wonderful Thursday poems, lost!
    πŸ˜‰

  45. John H says:

    Ron: for an introduction to the tragedy of the commons, see this classic post from Bunnie Diehl last year: http://bunniediehl.worldmagblog.com/bunniediehl/archives/004632.html

  46. John H says:

    Ron: for an introduction to the tragedy of the commons, see this classic post from Bunnie Diehl last year: http://bunniediehl.worldmagblog.com/bunniediehl/archives/004632.html

  47. John H says:

    Ron: for an introduction to the tragedy of the commons, see this classic post from Bunnie Diehl last year: http://bunniediehl.worldmagblog.com/bunniediehl/archives/004632.html

  48. John H says:

    Ron: for an introduction to the tragedy of the commons, see this classic post from Bunnie Diehl last year: http://bunniediehl.worldmagblog.com/bunniediehl/archives/004632.html

  49. Thomas says:

    I for one have earned my white hairs. Salvation may be by grace, but a great many white and gray hairs result from our works…

  50. Thomas says:

    I for one have earned my white hairs. Salvation may be by grace, but a great many white and gray hairs result from our works…

  51. Thomas says:

    I for one have earned my white hairs. Salvation may be by grace, but a great many white and gray hairs result from our works…

  52. Thomas says:

    I for one have earned my white hairs. Salvation may be by grace, but a great many white and gray hairs result from our works…

Leave a Reply

