I get a kick out of Doo(nesbury)

Doonesbury (which I get sent by email each day, ever since I stopped reading the Guardian regularly) has been very preachy and dull recently, so it was good to come across one that made me laugh for once:

Doonesbury, 15 August 2005

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I get a kick out of Doo(nesbury)

  1. Atwood says:

    Now if he became a Baptist preacher it would Jim-bo Thudpucker III. The union of super-informal versions of the first name with aristocratic sounding III’s and IV’s seems to be a strange onomastic peculiarity of southern preacher dynasties.

  2. Atwood says:

    Now if he became a Baptist preacher it would Jim-bo Thudpucker III. The union of super-informal versions of the first name with aristocratic sounding III’s and IV’s seems to be a strange onomastic peculiarity of southern preacher dynasties.

  3. Atwood says:

    Now if he became a Baptist preacher it would Jim-bo Thudpucker III. The union of super-informal versions of the first name with aristocratic sounding III’s and IV’s seems to be a strange onomastic peculiarity of southern preacher dynasties.

  4. Atwood says:

    Now if he became a Baptist preacher it would Jim-bo Thudpucker III. The union of super-informal versions of the first name with aristocratic sounding III’s and IV’s seems to be a strange onomastic peculiarity of southern preacher dynasties.

  5. Jeremy Abel says:

    Are you suggesting that (just pulling a name out of the air) Bob Jones doesn’t seem like the sort of name to which one attaches a III? Or that the name Bob Jones University doesn’t reek of academic respectability?

  6. Jeremy Abel says:

    Are you suggesting that (just pulling a name out of the air) Bob Jones doesn’t seem like the sort of name to which one attaches a III? Or that the name Bob Jones University doesn’t reek of academic respectability?

  7. Jeremy Abel says:

    Are you suggesting that (just pulling a name out of the air) Bob Jones doesn’t seem like the sort of name to which one attaches a III? Or that the name Bob Jones University doesn’t reek of academic respectability?

  8. Jeremy Abel says:

    Are you suggesting that (just pulling a name out of the air) Bob Jones doesn’t seem like the sort of name to which one attaches a III? Or that the name Bob Jones University doesn’t reek of academic respectability?

  9. John H says:

    Well, it has to be better than Trump University.
    In fact, you could see BJU as falling into the same tradition as other notable educational ventures by Christian leaders such as Cardinal College in Oxford, subsequently renamed Christ Church after its founder, Thomas Wolsey, was, um, reassigned by Henry VIII.

  10. John H says:

    Well, it has to be better than Trump University.
    In fact, you could see BJU as falling into the same tradition as other notable educational ventures by Christian leaders such as Cardinal College in Oxford, subsequently renamed Christ Church after its founder, Thomas Wolsey, was, um, reassigned by Henry VIII.

  11. John H says:

    Well, it has to be better than Trump University.
    In fact, you could see BJU as falling into the same tradition as other notable educational ventures by Christian leaders such as Cardinal College in Oxford, subsequently renamed Christ Church after its founder, Thomas Wolsey, was, um, reassigned by Henry VIII.

  12. John H says:

    Well, it has to be better than Trump University.
    In fact, you could see BJU as falling into the same tradition as other notable educational ventures by Christian leaders such as Cardinal College in Oxford, subsequently renamed Christ Church after its founder, Thomas Wolsey, was, um, reassigned by Henry VIII.

  13. Theresa K. says:

    I had NO idea there was a Trump University. I nearly spit on my monitor laughing!

  14. Theresa K. says:

    I had NO idea there was a Trump University. I nearly spit on my monitor laughing!

  15. Theresa K. says:

    I had NO idea there was a Trump University. I nearly spit on my monitor laughing!

  16. Theresa K. says:

    I had NO idea there was a Trump University. I nearly spit on my monitor laughing!

  17. Atwood says:

    I think you caught my drift, Jeremy.

  18. Atwood says:

    I think you caught my drift, Jeremy.

  19. Atwood says:

    I think you caught my drift, Jeremy.

  20. Atwood says:

    I think you caught my drift, Jeremy.

Leave a Reply

