Now I’ll have eine kleine Pause

Just having the weekend off. Online discourse completely sucks. Involves 10% of our personalities trampling over 100% of the personalities of the other participants. We were made by God to be face to face with one another, to see and hear one another as real people.

Will be back just as soon as I’ve forgotten that again.

Update (Monday):

“…heavy words are so lightly thrown…”

Self-pity levels stabilising… martyr-complex returning to normal operating parameters… Smiths CDs returned to breakable-glass cabinet… normal service will be resumed as soon as I have anything worth saying…

Update (2): I now realise what I said in my post on Friday could be misinterpreted. To clarify: it was my 10% doing the trampling, not my 100% getting trampled. I wasn’t complaining about anybody else’s behaviour, but bewailing my own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Now I’ll have eine kleine Pause

  1. Alex says:

    John,
    Sad to see you back off of the blogosphere for a while, but you’re right. There are many very important aspects to communication beyond the mere imparting of words onto a screen.
    God bless!

  2. Alex says:

    John,
    Sad to see you back off of the blogosphere for a while, but you’re right. There are many very important aspects to communication beyond the mere imparting of words onto a screen.
    God bless!

  3. Alex says:

    John,
    Sad to see you back off of the blogosphere for a while, but you’re right. There are many very important aspects to communication beyond the mere imparting of words onto a screen.
    God bless!

  4. Alex says:

    John,
    Sad to see you back off of the blogosphere for a while, but you’re right. There are many very important aspects to communication beyond the mere imparting of words onto a screen.
    God bless!

  5. D.S.Ketelby says:

    Like Alex said, good luck and God bless.
    I sympathise with your reasons for putting things on hold… funny thing, blogging.
    Logged on during a brief lull at the World Science Fiction Convention in Glasgow, and glad I did… hoping to meet up with you at some point this autumn (and not through the wearisome machine).

  6. D.S.Ketelby says:

    Like Alex said, good luck and God bless.
    I sympathise with your reasons for putting things on hold… funny thing, blogging.
    Logged on during a brief lull at the World Science Fiction Convention in Glasgow, and glad I did… hoping to meet up with you at some point this autumn (and not through the wearisome machine).

  7. D.S.Ketelby says:

    Like Alex said, good luck and God bless.
    I sympathise with your reasons for putting things on hold… funny thing, blogging.
    Logged on during a brief lull at the World Science Fiction Convention in Glasgow, and glad I did… hoping to meet up with you at some point this autumn (and not through the wearisome machine).

  8. D.S.Ketelby says:

    Like Alex said, good luck and God bless.
    I sympathise with your reasons for putting things on hold… funny thing, blogging.
    Logged on during a brief lull at the World Science Fiction Convention in Glasgow, and glad I did… hoping to meet up with you at some point this autumn (and not through the wearisome machine).

  9. Bill R says:

    Sometimes we just need a little spiritual “detox.”

  10. Bill R says:

    Sometimes we just need a little spiritual “detox.”

  11. Bill R says:

    Sometimes we just need a little spiritual “detox.”

  12. Bill R says:

    Sometimes we just need a little spiritual “detox.”

  13. Wyclif says:

    John,
    I saw the original post over the weekend. I was on holiday, and perhaps that had something to do with why you hit me where I live, but now, in retrospect, I don’t think so.
    I’m glad you’re back, but Morrissey-level mopiness aside I think the level of Christian discourse on the Internet is woeful.
    Keep keepin’ it real.

  14. Wyclif says:

    John,
    I saw the original post over the weekend. I was on holiday, and perhaps that had something to do with why you hit me where I live, but now, in retrospect, I don’t think so.
    I’m glad you’re back, but Morrissey-level mopiness aside I think the level of Christian discourse on the Internet is woeful.
    Keep keepin’ it real.

  15. Wyclif says:

    John,
    I saw the original post over the weekend. I was on holiday, and perhaps that had something to do with why you hit me where I live, but now, in retrospect, I don’t think so.
    I’m glad you’re back, but Morrissey-level mopiness aside I think the level of Christian discourse on the Internet is woeful.
    Keep keepin’ it real.

  16. Wyclif says:

    John,
    I saw the original post over the weekend. I was on holiday, and perhaps that had something to do with why you hit me where I live, but now, in retrospect, I don’t think so.
    I’m glad you’re back, but Morrissey-level mopiness aside I think the level of Christian discourse on the Internet is woeful.
    Keep keepin’ it real.

  17. Craig says:

    Glad to see you back.
    I noticed your name is not on the “Here I Stand” contributor list anymore. Did you have a fight with Josh? 😉

  18. Craig says:

    Glad to see you back.
    I noticed your name is not on the “Here I Stand” contributor list anymore. Did you have a fight with Josh? 😉

  19. Craig says:

    Glad to see you back.
    I noticed your name is not on the “Here I Stand” contributor list anymore. Did you have a fight with Josh? 😉

  20. Craig says:

    Glad to see you back.
    I noticed your name is not on the “Here I Stand” contributor list anymore. Did you have a fight with Josh? 😉

  21. Theresa K. says:

    You have made me feel as though someone else understands how I end up feeling when I read HWS very often.

  22. Theresa K. says:

    You have made me feel as though someone else understands how I end up feeling when I read HWS very often.

  23. Theresa K. says:

    You have made me feel as though someone else understands how I end up feeling when I read HWS very often.

  24. Theresa K. says:

    You have made me feel as though someone else understands how I end up feeling when I read HWS very often.

Leave a Reply

